lobispy.blogg.se

Dr. marie louise von franz
Dr. marie louise von franz










She would come back with a full-blown interpretation of what the unconscious was saying to compensate his conscious attitude. He would tell her a dream and stammer a few associations. I was continually in awe of Fraser’s account of von Franz’s understanding of his dreams. We found separate living spaces after six months, but the analytic sharing went on. And thank goodness, because every time he came back from a session with her we chewed over, for hours, what she had said. She was a frumpy housewife then, just as neurotic as the rest of us.įraser became a close friend of mine, our relationship enhanced by the fact that Marie-Louise von Franz was his analyst. His sister, Marion Woodman, soon joined us. In German this place-name is pronounced Eck, but of course eggs are ubiquitous symbols of new life, which heartened us both. Our dismal state was echoed by others in training, which is to say we were all there because we had run afoul of our own psychology.įraser and I rented a house in the nearby village of Egg. He was also Canadian, from London, Ontario, and he too had run out of steam, reached the end of his tether and so on. Fraser had been a teacher for many years before he landed a job as assistant producer on the film Murder on the Orient Express. Fraser Boa, a charismatic fellow larger than life, had also been accepted as a trainee and was looking for someone to share a house. Richard Pope, who was more than adequate for the likes of me, but that is another story.Īs it happened, I then fell in with a shadow companion. I shopped around and found another analyst, Dr. Marie-Louise von Franz was my beacon, but alas, she was already fully booked. I limped into Zurich in the fall of 1974, having abandoned my wife and three young children in favor of my own potential renewal. He helped me to my feet and on his recommendation I was accepted for training at the C.G. Anthony Stevens, a great admirer of von Franz. I was in England at the time and my analyst was Dr. Needless to say, I took the alternative: I went into analysis. Tough to take, but her cogent comments on men who sounded suspiciously like me, devastating as they were to my image of myself, offered an implicit alternative to killing myself.

dr. marie louise von franz

Well, that’s not entirely true better say she prepared me for what was coming, which is to say, I could appreciate intellectually, with my thinking function, her analysis of the mother-bound man, but I did not truly see its relevance to me-from a feeling standpoint, that is-until I was on my knees three years later. Exupery), had opened my eyes to my personal psychology. I didn’t meet her in person until 1976, but already in 1970 her landmark book published by Spring Publications, The Problem of the Puer Aeternus (a Jungian interpretation of The Little Prince by Antoine St.












Dr. marie louise von franz